Monies held by Van Wert County are classified by State Statute into two categories.

  1. Active monies – means an amount of public monies determined to be necessary to meet current demand upon the County Treasury.
  2. Inactive monies – any other funds not considered as active are classified inactive.

This committee is made up of two (2) Commissioners and the County Treasurer. The County Treasurer is designated as Investment Authority. This group meets quarterly or on other occasions as needed.

The Investment Authority provides this committee quarterly reports as pertain to investments held, interest earned, and any sales or purchases of securities.

The Treasurer  has three major objectives in the management of the County’s investments. First and foremost is safety; second, is liquidity; and third, is return on investment.